top of page
Search

Week 10: Relaxation and Meditation

This week I followed along to a YouTube video named Restorative Yoga + Meditation | No Props 35 Minute Relaxing Practice. It was uploaded by Jessica Richburg. This practice was very simple compared to a lot of the other practices that I have tried. The instructor was very soft spoken and calm. All of the poses that we did were done slowly and were very simple to do. The goal of this practice was to be in the moment and be more aware of your body.


Meditation is a practice that an individual uses in order to achieve a mentally clear and emotionally calm and stable state. Most people meditate by clearing their minds and focusing on their bodies while staying calm and unmoving. This has been practiced for years and taught to people so that they could relax or to use as a form of selfcare. Many people use meditation for different reasons other than relaxation. Some may use it to connect to their inner spirit or spirit guides.

In this practice the form of meditation that we did reminded me a lot of the shavasana pose, although we didn't lie down. This makes me think that maybe meditation has always been a part of yoga and I just never noticed or it was never pointed out to me. The concept is the same and gives you a chance to calm your breathing, clear your mind, and focus on the moment. If I didn't look up this specific class I probably would not make the connections to shavasana and meditation.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Post for the Semester

This semester has been a wild ride, especially since everything was online and I hardly had any real social interactions outside of my...

Week 11: Full Body Flow

This week I practiced along to a short 20 minute video on Youtube on the channel Yoga With Adriene. The name of the video was Full Body...

Week 9: Definitions of Yoga

This week I practiced alongside a 20 minute YouTube video named Full Body Flow uploaded by Yoga With Adriene. Every time I open up a...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page