top of page
Search

Week 9: Definitions of Yoga

This week I practiced alongside a 20 minute YouTube video named Full Body Flow uploaded by Yoga With Adriene. Every time I open up a video by her, I feel more confident because she always make sure to say motivating things in between poses. This practice had a mix of calmness and rush. There was some points where I was unable to do some of the poses but then there were moments where I could relax and just be in the moment.

The definition of yoga changes depending on who you ask or where in the world you ask. In the US yoga is seen more of an exercise and a way to get into shape rather than seeing it as a spiritual activity that connects one to their mind and body. Personally, I see yoga as an activity to do whenever I need a break from reality and just want to be in the moment. I do yoga to destress and to get away from everything that is weighing me down.

One thing that I have realized while practicing yoga both on my own and in class is that I prefer live classes such as the ones we have done on Tuesdays and Thursdays when we had guest instructors. The reason for this is that it feels more natural and a bit easier to follow along knowing because I can't just put the video on pause and know that there are others also doing this same practice. I would like to go to an actual studio one day to see how big the difference is between following along to a YouTube video, a zoom class, and being there in person.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Post for the Semester

This semester has been a wild ride, especially since everything was online and I hardly had any real social interactions outside of my...

Week 11: Full Body Flow

This week I practiced along to a short 20 minute video on Youtube on the channel Yoga With Adriene. The name of the video was Full Body...

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page