top of page
Search

Week 3: Bikram Yoga

This week, things were done a little differently. One of my preferences when it comes to yoga is to do it either a few hours after I woke up for the day or during the evening. The class that I will be writing about was instructed by Diane Polli and demonstrated by Professor Laurie Greene. The class was on Bikram yoga, which is a type of yoga that is mainly for exercising and consists of 26 different poses. Each class would usually last about 90 minutes.


We started practicing a little after 10:30 am with all our cameras on. To be honest, I wasn't fully awake yet and felt a bit uncomfortable performing yoga in front of the camera, so I stepped to the side where I wouldn't really be seen. At first I thought that it would be pretty easy to do and to follow along, however I was wrong. After about 15-20 minutes in I started to struggle with some of the positions. This made me realize that the two yoga classes that I've seen so far were pretty easy compared to Bikram yoga.


Throughout the class Diane mentioned how important it is to get the poses right. She even talked about how yoga helps with healing by telling us her story. She mentioned that if it wasn't for yoga, she probably would have been in a wheelchair and not be as active as she is now. She has been practicing yoga for several years and has traveled to places as far as Bali and India. I find it interesting how much of an impact yoga has had on people as I continue to learn more.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Post for the Semester

This semester has been a wild ride, especially since everything was online and I hardly had any real social interactions outside of my...

Week 11: Full Body Flow

This week I practiced along to a short 20 minute video on Youtube on the channel Yoga With Adriene. The name of the video was Full Body...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page